Create a bootable USB flash drive for Windows 8


Summary : How to create a bootable USB flash drive from Windows 8 ISO.

While installing from a DVD is suitable in most situations, you may want to be able to install Windows 8 from a USB flash drive. Fortunately, doing so is not as difficult as it once was. In fact, Microsoft has a utility called the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool that will allow you to convert the ISO image so that it can boot from a USB flash drive. (Keep in mind that while the tool has Windows 7 in its name, it will still work for Windows 8.)

In this article, I’ll show you how to download, install and use the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool to transfer the Windows 8 Enterprise evaluation ISO to a bootable USB flash drive. Keep in mind that while I’ll use the Windows 8 Enterprise evaluation ISO as my example, this procedure will work with any Windows 7 or Windows 8 ISO.

What you need

To install the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool, you need at least a Pentium 233 MHz processor and 50MB of free hard disk space. You can install the tool in Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista, or Windows 7 (32-bit or 64-bit). Your USB flash drive must be at least 4GB and it should not have any other files on it. In fact, I recommend that you perform a full format of your USB flash drive; just to be sure that it is error free.

If you are running Windows XP, you will need to download and install both Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 and Microsoft Image Mastering API v2 before you install the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool. Keep in mind that the most current version of the .NET Framework is 4.5, but if you only want to download 2.0, previous versions are available on the .NET site linked above.

Downloading the tool

Downloading the tool is easy. To begin, head over to the Microsoft Store’s Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool page and scroll down until you see the download link. When you click it you’ll be prompted to either Run or Save the tool. For my example, I chose to save the file so that I could experiment with the tool on various machines.

downloading the tool : ehack

downloading the tool : ehack

Installing the tool

After I downloaded the file to my hard disk, I double-clicked the executable and was prompted with a Security Warning. You’ll see a similar warning if you choose to Run the installation from the download site.

Installing the tool : ehack

Installing the tool : ehack

As soon as you click Run, you’ll see the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool Setup Wizard. The installation runs pretty quickly via the four step wizard and the first and last screens of the wizard are shown in figure.

Installation Wizard : ehack

Installation Wizard : ehack

Running the tool

Once the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool is installed, I recommend that you insert your 4GB or larger USB flash drive and wait for it to be recognized. That way, the drive will be ready when you are running the tool. When the flash drive is ready, you can launch the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool from the Start menu. As soon as you do, you’ll encounter a User Account Control dialog box.

Running the tool : ehack

Running the tool : ehack

When the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool displays its first screen, you’ll be prompted to locate and select the ISO file. (As a sidebar, I must point out that the first time that I saw this screen I was a little startled to see Microsoft Store in the title bar – I had expected a more traditional looking wizard interface, like the one from the setup. Not a big deal by any means, it just took a little getting used to.)

Choose ISO file : ehack

Choose ISO file : ehack

On the second screen, you will click the USB device button. However, as you can see, you can just as easily select DVD as the media type. (If you are running Windows XP, which doesn’t include a tool like Windows 7’s Windows Disc Image Burner tool, this tool comes in handy if want to burn a Windows 8 ISO to DVD.)

Select USB device : ehack

Select USB device : ehack

When the third screen appears, you should see your USB flash drive in the list box. If not, click the Refresh button adjacent to the list box. Once your drive appears, click the Begin copying button. As soon as you do, the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool will perform a quick format of the flash drive, ostensibly to make it a bootable drive.

Begin Copying : ehack

Begin Copying : ehack

Once the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool begins copying the file to the drive, from start to finish the process will take anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes to complete depending on the speed of your flash drive. When it is done, the status will indicate Backup completed. The beginning and ending of the copy operation are shown in figure. When the copy operation is done, just click the close button in the upper right corner.

Creating process starts : ehack

Creating process starts : ehack

When the operation is finished, you can launch Windows Explorer and take a peek at the contents of your now bootable USB flash drive.

Contents of USB flash drive : ehack

Contents of USB flash drive : ehack

Booting from the USB flash drive

Once you insert the bootable USB flash drive into the system on which you want to install Windows 8, restart the system, and then follow the onscreen instructions to access the boot menu.  Using the down arrow, I selected the USB Flash MemoryPMAP option and pressed [Enter].

Boot Menu : ehack

Boot Menu : ehack

Within a few moments, you’ll see the new Windows flag on the screen,  indicating that Windows 8 Setup is being initialized.

windows : ehack

windows : ehack

Original Post at TechRepublic

Thanks for reading. hope it might helped you.
http://ehack.thegeoadventure.com/

Posted on December 25, 2012, in operating system, technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  2. Spot on. Good things – I am pretty in-line with a lot of exactly what you stated. Going to discuss this along with my pals that are likewise in to this.

  3. Great items from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve received right here, really like what you’re saying and the way by which you are saying it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to stay it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. That is actually a tremendous site.

  4. I just want to tell you that I am newbie to blogging and site-building and honestly savored this website. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with beneficial article content. Thank you for sharing with us your website page.

  5. I simply want to say I’m all new to blogging and truly savored this blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You really have superb stories. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your blog.

  6. Hi, I just hopped over to your web-site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making something well worth reading through.

  7. Could you email me with a few tips on how you made this site look this cool, Id appreciate it.

  8. Could you email me with some tips about how you made your website look this cool , Id appreciate it!

  9. I think one of your current advertisements caused my internet browser to resize, you might well need to set up that on your blacklist.

  10. Hey there, I just hopped over to your webpage via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth reading through.

  11. I adore the blog layout ! How do you make it. It is very cool!

  12. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and come with almost all vital infos. I would like to look more posts like this .

  13. I’m also commenting to make you understand of the extraordinary experience my child found reading through yuor web blog. She figured out numerous things, with the inclusion of what it is like to have an amazing teaching style to get folks quite simply know specific complex topics. You actually surpassed people’s expectations. I appreciate you for imparting those helpful, safe, informative and also cool tips on your topic to Evelyn.

  14. Nearly all of the opinions on this particular web site dont make sense.

  15. Hey there! Somebody in my Myspace group public this locate with us so I got here to look it above. I’m positively having fun with the information. I am guide-marking and shall live tweeting this to my followers! Implausible blog and fantastic design.

  16. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

  17. Very interesting topic, appreciate it for putting up.

  18. Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  19. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  20. First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

