Facebook’s Anti-Virus Marketplace turns focus to URL blacklist system


Summary: Facebook continues to maintain that security is a primary focus as its Anti-Virus Marketplace gets stocked with more solutions from the likes of Avira, Kaspersky, and Webroot.

Facebook has announced that it is expanding its Anti-Virus Marketplace through the addition of seven more security solutions providers to its coalition.

That group consists of Avast, AVG, Avira, Kaspersky, Panda, Total Defense, and Webroot.

Launched earlier this year, the Anti-Virus Marketplace is the product of a partnership with anti-virus software providers that offer Facebook users with free software to keep their computers secure.

Facebook reps said that approximately 30 million people have already visited the Anti-Virus Marketplace since its unveiling in April.

In July, the world’s largest social network continued to develop upon its security agenda with theintroduction of Malware Checkpoint, which enables Facebook to direct users who think their computer might be infected to sites where they can get free anti-virus software.

According to a blog post on the Facebook Security blog on Tuesday morning, one of the primary objectives now for these partners is to help improve Facebook’s URL blacklist system, which scans trillions of clicks per day and consults the databases of all Anti-Virus Marketplace partners to ensure sites are safe.

Effective security must be a cooperative effort; by adding these new partners to the Facebook Security family we are sure we can keep our community even better protected from threats both on Facebook and elsewhere on the web.

In addition to these new partners, some of Facebook’s existing partners — including Microsoft, McAfee, TrendMicro, Sophos, and Symantec — will begin offering anti‑virus software for mobile devices. Their free anti-virus software is also available for PC and Mac.

Original post at—http://www.zdnet.com/facebooks-anti-virus-marketplace-turns-focus-to-url-blacklist-system-7000005793/

Thanks for reading. hope it might helped you.
http://ehack.thegeoadventure.com/

Posted on December 16, 2012, in ehacking, hacking, security and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. 331149 669109I truly dont accept this specific write-up. Nonetheless, I had searched with Google and Ive discovered out that youre correct and I had been thinking within the improper way. Keep on creating top quality material comparable to this. 230850

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back later on. I want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

    • thanks for your appreciation.
      but i’m not the original author of this article.
      i just try to find out the best stories from here and there and then put up here.

  3. I’m really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    • thanks Lizzie.
      Actually this is the free theme provided by wordpress.com.
      i have not designed it.
      but also i know that…my user doesn’t face any type of problem, accessing this blog in any of the browser.

  4. quite good post, i in fact really like this internet internet site, maintain on it

  5. Perfectly composed content material, thankyou for entropy.

  6. … – I searched and found it. Thanks for the post. Martin Santo

  7. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any means you possibly can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  8. Yay google is my world beater aided me to locate this outstanding internet web site !

  9. Straight towards the point and properly written! Why can’t every person else be like this?

  10. Hey. Quite good internet internet site!! Man .. Exceptional .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark this internet internet site and take the feeds also I am pleased to locate so considerably valuable data here within the post. Thanks for sharing.

  11. As I site possessor I feel the articles here is really great, regards for your efforts.

  12. Yay google is my world beater aided me to find this outstanding web site ! .

  13. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your weblog with my twitter group? There’s a great deal of men and women that I feel would genuinely enjoy your content material. Please let me know. Thanks

  14. This reminnds me of soomething I saw a whiile back. Goodd stuff!

  15. some genuinely choice content on this internet website , saved to my bookmarks .

  16. This internet web page is genuinely a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll surely discover it.

  17. Some truly exceptional articles on this internet internet site , regards for contribution.

  18. whoah this blog is magnificent i adore reading your posts. Keep up the fantastic work! You know, lots of individuals are searching around for this info, you could assist them greatly.

  19. There is visibly a bunch to know about this. I believe you created various excellent points in capabilities also.

  20. I like this blog its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google .

  21. Hi there, just became aware of your weblog by means of Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’ll be grateful should you continue this in future. Lots of folks will benefit from your writing. Cheers!

  22. It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you just shared this helpful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  23. Very nice write-up. I certainly love this site.
    Keep writing!

  24. I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was obtaining boring, but the last few posts are truly great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my every day bloglist. You deserve it my friend.

  25. I discovered your blog site internet site on the internet and appearance some of your early posts. Continue to keep in the great operate. I just now additional increase your Rss to my MSN News Reader. Seeking toward reading far more from you finding out at a later date!�

  26. hanks for the write up! Also, just a heads up, your RSS feeds aren�t working. Could you take a appear at that?

  27. Hello there. I needed to inquire some thing�is this a wordpress site as we are thinking about transferring across to WP. Moreover did you make this theme all by yourself? Cheers.

  28. Soon after study a handful with the content material within your internet internet site now, and that i genuinely such as your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark internet internet site list and are checking back soon. Pls appear into my internet site as effectively and tell me what you believe.

  29. 381696 646314Thank you for your amazing post! It has long been really valuable. I hope which you will proceed sharing your wisdom with us. 677465

  30. Aw, this is an incredibly nice post. In thought I would like to put in place writing like this moreover – spending time and actual effort to create a good article� but exactly what do I say� I procrastinate alot through no indicates seem to get something accomplished.

Leave a Reply

